Skip to content

Cats. And a Puppy.

January 22, 2012

I don’t sketch enough methinks. And when I do, I have a tendency to be drawn toward animals – especially my personal favorites. I can’t help myself – with no real direction but a desire to draw something, I usually find my paper decorated with felines! This week I’ve really wanted to draw, though very little is turning out the way I would like. I still would like to work a lot on my shading, but to do that I need some drawings to shade… and I’m not up for using anything older right now.

Here’s a few of the things I’ve come up with recently:

Shongshar

This is a sketch of a big guy named “Shongshar.” He is a character in Clare Bell’s novel, “Clan Ground”. He’s an intelligent big cat similar to a sabre-toothed cat and acts as something of an antagonist in the book. I didn’t get around to coloring this one yet ’cause I’m not sure exactly what I want to do with it.

Siamese Cat

 

 

This one showed up later as I was sketching – something quick, simple. Something I could color quickly. Like I said, I’m still trying to practice this new way of shading – finding its strengths and its limitations as I work.

 

 

 

 

Khajiit

This particular sketch is actually quite a bit larger than the size shown. The creature is a Khajiit from the Elder Scrolls series. I, in particular, was thinking of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim which is an awesome and enjoyable game. This isn’t the character I play in the game – only an idea. She is a Khajiiti mage.

To finish things up here, let’s break away from all the felines. This guy showed up as I was searching the internet for pictures to inspire me. I can’t really claim credit for the pose at all… but he is cute!

Puppy

He’s based off of a photo from cuteoverload.com. I was working quickly and sloppily.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

