Skip to content

The Sunday Doodles

March 26, 2012
FROG stands for "Fully Rely On God".

Just a head’s up: this blog post will contain religious themes and some of my thoughts/views on such.

Hey… did I ever mention I’d probably not update this thing regularly? 😛

I doodle in church. I have to. Doodling helps me stay focused! Except, of course, when it doesn’t. Naturally, I’ll always have a sketchbook with me on Sunday morning (or Saturday night, as the case may sometimes be) while I’m at church.

Sunday doodles are usually small with several filling a single page like so:

A whole page devoted to one service.

The Sunday Doodles... from a Saturday evening service! Click the thumbnail to see the full size!

This page features a few doodles and several notes from the service that Saturday. This is how I keep track of sermons. I pay more attention (usually!) when I’m drawing something on a page that may seem unrelated to what the pastor’s saying. That’s just how my mind works!

This past Saturday I took a lot of notes relative to drawings. In fact, one of the drawings was added a couple hours after the service (the image of a weeping girl in the lower right-hand corner). So that’s only 4 images. Still, each one had some meaning or place in my mind in relation to something I heard during the sermon or something that occurred to me in the midst of the pastor’s preaching.


The Heart of Everything

The Heart of Everything

God is the Heart of Everything.

At top an center is a doodle of a heart with a trunk and branches like a tree. My thoughts were something along this line > God is Love > Love should be in the middle of everything > God is/should be the center of everything > Everything we do should branch from our desire to serve God and Love others. …or something like that. 🙂 So I represented it with a tree, its roots and branches growing from a center of Love.


F.R.O.G.

FROG stands for "Fully Rely On God".

Fully Rely On God.

In the center of the page is a simple drawing of a frog. This is one I hope to finish and make a logo out of. The logo came from a thought and an acronym I learned in VBS when I was younger: FROG. Fully Rely On God. This would be a theoretical logo for something along the lines of “FROG Ministries” I guess.


The following Sunday I visited another church. I wasn’t nearly as interested in the service. Usually when I’m not as invested in the service my doodles will become a little more flesh-out as my thoughts focus on what I’m drawing rather than what’s being said. Also, my doodles tend to become “wilder” and lean more into my own personal interests (like fantasy, animals, and… anything that might come to my mind right then). The following was a result of this:

A Gnome?

Weeeeeird. Click the thumbnail for full view.

So I really just wanted to draw a potentially cranky-looking old guy with a beard. This made me think of dwarves, gnomes, goblins, and what-have-you. The result was an armless guy (or a guy whose arms are hidden in his beard-of-awesome?) with feet poking out of the bottom. I think he might be some kind of gnome. I’m not sure. 🙂 Your guess is as good as mine! But he was fun to draw in any case!


Update 3/27/12

Sometimes I actually decide to color things promptly. In this case, I colored the above gnome-thing in Corel Painter Sketch Pad. Take a look!

The gnome in color.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

